Wednesday, May 30, 2012

The Royal Society of Literature Ondaatje Prize

This is an annual award of £10,000 for a distinguished work of fiction, non-fiction or poetry, evoking the spirit of a place.
Rahul Bhattacharya has won the £10,000 RSL Ondaatje Prize, for his debut novel The Sly Company of People Who Care (Picador) about 'the history and inhabitants and landscape of Guyana’.
The Sly Company of People Who Care: A Novel
Also on the shortlist for the 2012 were:
Julia Blackburn Thin Paths
Teju Cole Open City
Paul Farley and Michael Symmons Roberts Edgelands
Olivia Laing To the River
Tim Robinson Connemara

No comments:

Post a Comment